View topic - Week-long whitewater trip ideas from Saskatoon?

It is currently November 18th, 2019, 6:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: September 4th, 2015, 11:49 pm 

I know it's late in the season but I have everything I need packed and ready to go for a week of back-country camping. I live in Saskatoon and my girlfriend and I have just purchased a canoe. It doesn't arrive until March however so in the meantime we have a rental and want to take it to get some practice in whitewater. I have some experience but my girlfriend has none. Is there anywhere near Saskatoon that would be good for practicing some eddy turns and learning to identify various hazards in class I and II rapids for when we embark on a lengthy month-long trip of the Churchill next summer? I'd be willing to drive up to 5 hours away, as far as say Missinipe?

PostPosted: September 5th, 2015, 10:03 am 

Since no one else has responded...
I don't know of whitewater opportunities around Saskatoon - perhaps some eddy turns behind bridge piers in town?
Based on my very limited knowledge of other opportunities, I'd go up to Missinipe and take a course from Ric at CRCO or go up to Barker Lake on my won and play around.

PostPosted: September 5th, 2015, 1:11 pm 

Would the North Saskatchewan in Alberta interest you?
Nordegg to Rocky Mountain House would give many opportunities to practice but its 6+ hours away. Wilderness canoeing within sight of mountains and foothills. Big waves and rock gardens. At this low water level good for novices. The section from Drayton Bridge to Genesee or Devon has small rapids, some rocks and islands to zip around. Great section for beginners.

Later Laura

PostPosted: September 6th, 2015, 3:46 pm