View topic - Ms. Archer's difficulty ratings

It is currently April 4th, 2020, 5:14 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: January 4th, 2004, 10:21 am 

Hello Everyone. This is my first post on this forum.

I am looking into a trip in northern Saskatchewan this summer with my 13 year old son. I just bought Laurel Archer's book and am beginning to dig into it. I have been paddling seriously for about 5 years. My son is getting old enough to be developing some pretty good skills. We are comfortable in class I with short class II sections. Some of the river's in Ms. Archer's book that sound most interesting to me are rated 3 stars. My question is this... Would these rivers require my son and I to run class II+ to III rapids, or would we be able to portage anything that looks beyond our abilities? My son and I could handle the occasional class II+, but not continuous rapids of that difficulty. Do you think we should limit our route options to the 2 star routes, or is it possilble to take a more advanced route, and just portage the bigger rapids? If this is what we should do, which of her 2 star routes would those with experience on these rivers suggest? We will have 2 weeks on the water and are willing to spend some $ flying in +/or out.

Thank you for your time and knowledge. larry

Post subject: Northern Sask.
PostPosted: January 4th, 2004, 12:04 pm 
Happy New Year Larry!

And welcome to Canadian Canoe Routes.

You should be able to get a lot of useful information you need from Rick Driediger of Horizon's Unlimited through contact at
www.churchillrivercanoe.com. Rick is the pre-eminent canoe organiser and outfitter for Northern Saskatchewan.

I also urge you to contact Robpw and Vern (through this forum) for their knowledge, experience, and input on any route you may be considering. They are great resources on the rivers of Sask.

Happy Paddlin.

Post subject:
PostPosted: January 4th, 2004, 1:32 pm 

Hi Larry