View topic - Reply/Compose Private Message Ad position

It is currently July 24th, 2021, 10:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: March 18th, 2021, 10:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 11th, 2005, 4:58 pm
Posts: 2073
Location: Manitoba
When I go to a private message to compose or reply, the editor opens and I can type but the ads on the right hand side are over the editor window and not in their normal position to the right hand side of the text box.

Thus the ads cover what you are typing once there is enough text toward the right hand side of the text box.

It was the same on my desktop computer as well as my smart phone.

_________________
Brian
http://www.JohnstonPursuits.ca

 


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 19th, 2021, 6:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 27th, 2002, 7:00 pm
Posts: 2631
Location: Geraldton, Ontario Can
Yup, same for me, I usually end up ending my typing before the add so I can see what I typed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 19th, 2021, 9:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 20th, 2003, 9:27 am
Posts: 994
Same for me. I've started pressing "Enter" when my typing gets close to the ads so that none of my typing is covered.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 19th, 2021, 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: March 23rd, 2006, 11:21 pm
Posts: 1218
Location: Burns Lake, BC
Thanks to my typing teacher 35 years ago, I just keep typing and it shows up a few words later.
A quick double check by preview and then send.

But ya, it's been like this for a while.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 19th, 2021, 11:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 21st, 2006, 8:41 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Southern Ontario
Glad I checked the threads again, I was just typing up a post for the admins to fix this since it is very annoying. I finally just opened up word, typed it there and then cut/paste. I am glad it is not just me. I tried three different PC too.. lol

Hopefully they fix it, should be very simple for any web master to fix, if not I am sure someone has a 10yr old that can fix it :D

_________________
https://www.instagram.com/outbound2explore/

Wilderness is not a luxury but a necessity of the human spirit. ~ Edward Abbey


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 19th, 2021, 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 5th, 2020, 10:11 am
Posts: 95
lol. I love this site but that is my biggest bugbear. Like others I have to cut and paste messages from another word processing application. If only those ads were 2.5" to the right...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 19th, 2021, 9:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 20th, 2001, 7:00 pm
Posts: 3696
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
This particular quirk has been in effect since the first board revamp when the WCA took over the board (ie:about 15 years ago).

The other one I complained about at the time, the non-functional "top" button was eventually fixed. Not sure if it was because I told the mods that I would join WCA IF they fixed the top button. Took a couple of years but eventually it was fixed and I joined WCA.

Maybe if enough people state they will join WCA if the ads get moved over it will get fixed.

_________________
"What else could I do? I had no trade so I became a peddler" - Lazarus Greenberg 1915


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 20th, 2021, 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 11th, 2005, 4:58 pm
Posts: 2073
Location: Manitoba
All ready joined!

_________________
Brian
http://www.JohnstonPursuits.ca

 


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 20th, 2021, 5:53 pm 
Offline
CCR Site Administrator

Joined: April 30th, 2010, 4:11 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Georgetown, ON
recped wrote:
This particular quirk has been in effect since the first board revamp when the WCA took over the board (ie:about 15 years ago).

The other one I complained about at the time, the non-functional "top" button was eventually fixed. Not sure if it was because I told the mods that I would join WCA IF they fixed the top button. Took a couple of years but eventually it was fixed and I joined WCA.

Maybe if enough people state they will join WCA if the ads get moved over it will get fixed.


No promises! If there is a campaign to join the club maybe the money could be used to pay someone who knows what they are doing :lol:

The website is coded in Drupal 8.0, which is modular freeware. Nothing is perfect, especially when it is free.

_________________
For he today that sheds his blood with me. Shall be my brother;


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: June 17th, 2021, 8:34 am 
Offline
CCR Site Administrator

Joined: April 30th, 2010, 4:11 pm
Posts: 113
Location: Georgetown, ON
I looked for this a little, but your suspicions are accurate. It is not a simple setting that can be modified; because the width of the PM text box is embedded in the site's module templates. ie. there will be no effect of the browser, phone, or other interface. It is embedded in the site's core coding.

_________________
For he today that sheds his blood with me. Shall be my brother;


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group