View topic - Rain Kilt

It is currently July 24th, 2021, 8:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Rain Kilt
PostPosted: June 18th, 2021, 9:59 pm 

I’m thinking on replacing my rain pants with a rain kilt. Does anyone here have experience with this and can comment on pros and cons in relation to canoe trips?

Post subject: Re: Rain Kilt
PostPosted: June 19th, 2021, 9:41 am 

I've been using one (silnylon) for a few years now. They weigh a couple ounces, pack down to fit in the palm of your hand, and allow for great ventilation. I wear Chota Hippies under it. Great while paddling or moving around in open areas, not so great walking through tight bush as it catches easily on branches. Two thumbs up from me. Cheers.

Ubique

PostPosted: June 20th, 2021, 10:36 am 

Never knew there was such a thing as a rain kilt, and I’m not sure I see the pros and cons over rain pants.

Pros? Way less expensive. Small, lightweight, good ventilation. I’m guessing you can don the kilt without takes boots off?

Cons? Still need a rain jacket. Still need something from the knees down, so rain doesn’t drain down my calves into your boots? Is there a puddle in your lap if sitting? Mostly, how would it be during a swim?

I never liked wearing a poncho in the canoe; too much loose fabric that might get snagged on something, seat bolt or strainer, in a capsize, and never liked how clammy a poncho could against bare skin.

That said the Missus doesn’t like wearing raingear, and has a birthday coming up. Might be just the ticket.

PostPosted: June 20th, 2021, 11:21 am 

Mike, yes, you can don/doff the kilt without taking anything else off.

There are several different brands available. Some made of Deenema apparently. Mine is made by ULA, and it is 28" long.