View topic - Question for Anorak Users

It is currently January 21st, 2020, 12:38 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: November 16th, 2005, 9:10 pm 

Since there are still a few months before DF06 I was thinking of making an anorak for this year's trip.

I wasn't very observant on previous trips where both Richard and Dave sported anoraks. Could you tell me if the anorak was the only exterior layer you had with you on the trip? If yes, was it sufficient to maintain a comfortable temperature .?

thanks and have a great day

moe

Post subject:
PostPosted: November 16th, 2005, 11:29 pm 

Hi Moe,

I have some experience to share, but am not an expert. I have been using a cotton anorak for 3 years now. Last winter was my best test where I did a one-week hot tent trip where it never got warmer than -30, and it was often colder. I was fine. But it was a hot tent trip so when just sitting around and not working in the morning and evening, I was in the tent in the heat. During the day we were constantly working, either hauling sled by skis and snowshoes, cutting and hauling wood, or day-tripping unloaded on snowshoes. The challenge when working is actually to stay cool and not sweat too much. The wicked cold temps required special face gear to protect our noses (e.g. neoprene face masks), ski goggles, and wearing thick toques over balaclavas.